Posted by: Mark Nielsen | October 10, 2012

Sacred Mumbled Werds

Third Eye Crooner: A composite of Graham & Mark, done mostly by Mark on G’s Nintendo DS.

Sacred Mumbled Werds   (by Mark Nielsen, begun 10-15-11, stowed away incomplete, then completed [or maybe not yet?!] on 10-10-12)

Your Word, it moves my tongue.
My lips: Your praising drum.
My teeth: Your piano keys.
But as for ears, Lord, heal them please.

My feet tap to Your dance,

but do I stand a chance?

I’m out of step with You,

yet these others give me the Jeremiah Blues.

*

It’s like there’s some secret I wasn’t told,

and now its’s too late, I’m useless and old,

…too many years spent clearing my throat,

experiments and off-key notes,
yet never that memorable tune, that thing

that sums it up, a truth that rings.

A tune so simple, but hard to accept.

(For at denial we are adept–

and faith, in the age of science, seems silly,

like “Who’s to say what’s true now, really?”)

*

So mine is a misspelled sacred werd,

a stuttered blessing barely heard,

a blind man’s warning politely unheeded,

a “white elephant” refused, not needed,

a sapling falling in a forest,

a cry unheard over the chorus

of cheesy chaotic tribal chants

and trending petty partisan rants.

*

Mostly Your still small voice just mumbles,

while drums of war continue to rumble.

You said “to inherit the earth, be humble”,

but I fear all I’ll ever do is stumble.


Leave a Reply

Categories

