Posted by: Mark Nielsen | December 30, 2011

lonelygirl15 Returns: The Divorce Edition

Both Sides Now (Joni Mitchell album)

Image via Wikipedia

Since the original lonelygirl15 was a scripted hoax posing as “reality”, I will state right up fron here (not being a fan of hoaxes) that this post is not really about the former YouTube star, but is in fact about real loneliness. So if you can’t hack being both amused and depressed simultaneously, or were just looking for yet another cheap video voyeur’s thrill by checking in on young lonelygirl Bree, then get out now while the getting’s good.

Nevertheless, in the interest of clarity, here’s a thumbnail sketch of Bree, the actual lonelygirl15, compliments of Wikipedia:

lonelygirl15  first came to international attention ostensibly as a “real” video blogger who had achieved massive popularity on YouTube. The show was eventually proved as a hoax by suspicious viewers who identified the actress playing Bree as 19-year old AmericanNew Zealand actress Jessica Rose.[2]

I will also offer this tidbit: Wired magazine did an article a few years back tracking the lonelygirl15 phenomenon (a good pre-Twitter “follow”, for you dull-minded youngsters who don’t remember the days before Twitter).  The Wired piece was a bit of the “where are they now” stuff,  but mostly it discussed the internet business and social media aspects of lonelygirl15. But, if you want to see if Bree found love, or got divorced, or whatever… maybe start there.

For everyone else still sticking around, call me lonelyguy46.

This is my story, and I’m sticking to it.

I was sparked to explore this theme in my quest, during a challenging but healthy divorce process, to give myself permission to feel my real feelings, express them when I need to, and maybe even build community by being transparent. Or by blogging…

I was also sparked by a close listen to a classic song by a classic folksinger, The Original Lonelygirl, Joni Mitchell. The song is called Urge for Going, and it goes like this:

Ahhhh.

Urge for Going  (Joni Mitchell, released 1970 [B-side of  Big Yellow Taxi single] )

I awoke today and found the frost perched on the town
It hovered in a frozen sky, then it gobbled summer down
When the sun turns traitor cold
and shivering trees are standing in a naked row
I get the urge for going but I never seem to go

I get the urge for going
When the meadow grass is turning brown
Summertime is falling down and winter is closing in

I had me a man in summertime
He had summer-colored skin
And not another girl in town
My darling’s heart could win
But when the leaves fell trembling down
Bully winds did rub their faces in the snow
He got the urge for going And I had to let him go

He got the urge for going
When the meadow grass was turning brown
Summertime was falling down and winter was closing in

The warriors of winter they gave a cold triumphant shout
And all that stays is dying and all that lives is getting out
See the geese in chevron flight flapping and racing on before the snow
They’ve got the urge for going, they’ve got the wings to go

They get the urge for going
When the meadow grass is turning brown
Summertime is falling down and winter is closing in

I’ll ply the fire with kindling and pull the blankets to my chin
and I’ll lock the vagrant winter out and bolt my wandering in
I’d like to call back summertime and have her stay just another month or so
She’s got the urge for going and I guess she’ll have to go

And she gets the urge for going when meadow grass is turning brown
All her empires are falling down
winter’s closing in

Though I’m a big Joni Mitchell fan, I had not been aware of this song till I heard it the other day in a cover version by the great Irish folk-rock singer-songwriter Luka Bloom. Bloom did a terrific album of covers a few years back, called Keeper of the Flame. Upon hearing Urge for Going, it felt familiar, but only vaguely so.  Honestly, I thought maybe it was from another beloved Canadian folksinger, Leonard Cohen.  So I looked it up and was not surprised to find it was a Joni song.

I’m inclined to say more of a personal nature about my experience of the song, and my lonely state of late, and Seasonal Affect Disorder, and the starkness of winter in the upper Midwest (or in Saskatchewan, Canada where Joni wrote it).

But I just got called in to work on short notice. So all that will have to wait for another day.

I’ve got the urge for staying, but I guess I’ll have to go.


Responses

  1. […] up today with the melody of the flee-from-winter Joni Mitchell song  “Urge for Going”  playing in my head, and snow falling on the ground here in […]

  2. […] up today with the melody of the flee-from-winter Joni Mitchell song  “Urge for Going”  playing in my head, and snow falling on the ground here in […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

