Posted by: Mark Nielsen | March 24, 2011

Sprung (who knows if the moon’s cumming)

I missed it. Spring started last Sunday (officially, at least), and I didn’t even notice. I was so done in by the rain that I hunkered down, played several hours of Wii with Graham, and for once let Shabbat be a shabbat.

I was writing up a pithy description of this blog today for a network of blogs, and called myself A Man for All Seasons, Except Winter. And it’s true. I wasn’t always like this, though. As a kid, I’d tunnel in the snow till Mom saw my blue lips and forced me to come inside. But one cannot tunnel in the snow much, past a certain age. (Unlike the original Man for All Seasons, St. Thomas More, I take my suffering in smaller doses.)

One of my favorite poets, e e cummings (son of a minister), often used Spring as a symbol of concepts much greater and more spiritual: birth, resurrection, love (sex), even joy. Therefore –as a fan of both Spring and astronomy — I hereby welcome the new environmental year by presenting one of my favorite cummings poems.

Stay warm, “pretty people” !

I'm purple to the core.

Who Knows If The Moon’s

who knows if the moon’s

a balloon, coming out of a keen city

in the sky–filled with pretty people?

(and if you and i should

get into it, if they

should take me and take you into their balloon,

why then

we’d go up higher with all the pretty people

than houses and steeples and clouds:

go sailing

away and away sailing into a keen

city which nobody’s ever visited, where

always

its

Spring)and everyone’s

in love and flowers pick themselves

– e.e. cummings

From & [AND] | 1925


Leave a Reply

Categories

