Posted by: Mark Nielsen | February 5, 2008

Super Tuesday – Because It Finally Matters

I can’t hold my tongue today. It’s this primary, which I am excited about, despite knowing that in many ways it’s just a high-stakes popularity contest. But because the stakes are high, and because I care about my country and the world around us, I can’t keep quiet. I’m not going to rant or blather, because I resolved long ago not to fall in love with the sound of my own voice or assume all my opinions are correct. Nevertheless, I humbly ask you to vote for Barack Obama.

Maybe that humility makes me a bad blogger… or at least a bad political blogger. Which is why you should listen to me. I’m not as needy as the others. I do not require your attention, and I do not claim to be an expert at anything other than being myself.

Three political bloggers were featured on Chicago Tonight Monday, including one from DailyKos.com. What caught my attention though, as I was wrestling on the bed with my son, was when the woman from the conservative blog (name withheld because I’m too lazy to look it up) said their site gets thousands of hits a day. I don’t doubt it. And even though I aspire to have more readers as well, I’m not too concerned about it. Besides, I’m not just a political blogger anyway. Plus, I’m admittedly a strange bird. I fully expect that an audience of likeminded people would consist of about 500 readers — and I’d even test their patience on occasion. For I am, as my five-year-old said today, “unique”.

So all of that is my way of saying this: listen, read, agree, disagree — it’s not a big deal to me either way. Yet I still think of myself as a teacher, so I gotta say what I feel compelled to say. Yeah, yeah, I know …you didn’t sign up to be my student. But you’ve read this far, haven’t you?

So vote Obama. (Or not.)

Whatever you do, don’t let the spin-doctors and speech-writers influence you. Figure out what you need, what your neighbors need, what you believe, and then see where the candidates stand on those issues. Don’t vote based on how they look, or what they’ve said on television. Vote based upon what they’ve done, or what they plan to do. This assumes they’re telling the truth, of course, …which may be a bit dangerous, but we gotta start somewhere.


Leave a Reply

Categories

