Posted by: Mark Nielsen | January 2, 2014

Your 2014 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Inductees!

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame at sunset; Clevelan...

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame at sunset; Cleveland, Ohio. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Ladies and gentlemen, in case you had not heard, your 2014 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductees!

Stay tuned here for discussion and comments coming soon, on some of the artists below, especially Peter Gabriel, The E Street Band (featuring Little Steven), Hall and Oates, and Cat Stevens/Yusuf Islam.

.

- See more at: http://rockhall.com/inductees/#sthash.4r3wyrgB.dpuf

— —

Pure 1980 Golden Cheese music video for You Make My Dreams Come True – Hall and Oates. This song [in any form, even as dated and dopey as this vid… unless it was intended to be ironic and campy on purpose] is one of my all-time favorites… Philly blue-eyed pop-soul, from two of the best ever.

Responses

  1. I never had a problem with Hall and Oats. The soundtrack of my early teens included a heavy dose of their music. I would put “She’s Gone” at the top of my list of H/O favorites. The wall I usually bump up against when I think about them is that they stand on the shoulders of some of R&B’s giants who are far too often overlooked by H/O fans. Bill Withers, Al Green, Harold Melvin and the Bluenotes (ok I had to rely on google for Harold Melvin. Pot, Kettle – Black :) ).

    I’m looking forward to reading what you have to say about Cat. His music hits me right in the heart. One of many examples – “I Think I See the Light” ( http://youtu.be/Mda0AUsqYQg ). Goosebumps every time ….

  2. Thank you Michael. I agree with everything you’ve said above. Add in Sam and Dave and a couple others (some white, but not many–maybe Righteous Bros?), and we’ve got ourselves an R&B party. I am fiercely a fan of Green and Withers. Green’s gospel stuff is one of a kind, too. As for Cat, I don’t know his material as well, though I have listened to some of his Islamic music and I find it compelling, too. I won’t go deep on Cat, though, in the followup, because I prefer to say less, or nothing, when I am less-informed. We shall see.

    I still want to get back to following up this post. I have some material gathered. Hopefully by the end of this week…

    Thanks for checking in.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

