Posted by: Mark Nielsen | August 25, 2013

Batman Ben: Hell Hath No Fury Like That of a Fanboy Scorned

Ben at the "PGA": he writes, acts, directs... and golfs professionally? He really IS Batman.

Ben at the “PGA”: he writes, acts, directs… and golfs professionally? He really IS Batman.

I wouldn’t be doing my duty as a lame, half-hearted fanboy if I didn’t at least mention this. Several days late… because hey, it’s me, and I have a life. By now the heat of the story is already dissipating, but slowly.

Ben Affleck as Batman. First time Batman (the vigilante secret Fascist) and Superman (the secretly Jewish reluctant superhero) will be onscreen together. The Orville and Wilbur Wright of the DC Comics universe, together at last. Except only one can fly.

I am curious, though: why did they wait until AFTER the main (i.e. San Diego) Comic Con to make this announcement? Concerned they would be shouted down off some roundtable stage, or have a shoe thrown at them while at the podium? Curiouser and curiouser…

I’m going to try my best to NOT have an actual opinion on the casting choice itself. Because whatever I say, 100,000 other people will take the opposite opinion and flame my ass online. (Not that 100,000 people will read this. I’ll be lucky if 100 do.)

So instead of having an opinion, I will link to a fun tidbit, the best immediate reactions by various Hollywood insiders. They’re just grabbing some choice tweets, so it won’t take long for you to fly through them. But if you don’t here are my three favorites, in no particular order:

KevinSmith        ✔ @ThatKevinSmith

Holy shit… BEN AFFLECK IS THE NEW BATMAN!!! http://variety.com/2013/film/news/ben-affleck-is-the-new-batman-1200586881/ … Do you know what this means? It means that I’ve seen Batman naked!!!

8:18 PM – 22 Aug 2013

 

Chase Mitchell @ChaseMit

In the Ben Affleck version, Batman’s parents kill themselves.

8:41 PM – 22 Aug 2013

Wil Wheaton        ✔ @wilw

Really looking forward to seeing Affleck bring the depth and gravitas to Batman that he brought to Daredevil and Gigli.

9:06 PM – 22 Aug 2013


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

