Posted by: Mark Nielsen | October 29, 2012

Music & Mysticism to Make My Soul Dance

ON my drive home from my first-ever RLCC church small group last week, on Chicago’s WXRT (a secular rock radio station), the following three songs came on, …no doubt as a much-needed affirmation that I have a co-pilot through this strange transitional period of my life:

1) “I Still Believe (Great Design)” [by The Call... a classic from my college years]

I been in a cave
For forty days
With only a spark
To light my way
I wanna give out
I wanna give in
This is our crime
This is our sin

But I still believe
I still believe
Through the shame
And the grief
Through the lies
Through the storms
Through the cries
And through the wars
Oh, I still believe

Flat on my back
Out at sea
Hopin’ these waves
Don’t cover me
Lord, I’m turned and tossed
Upon the waves
When the darkness comes
I feel the grave

But I still believe
I still believe
Through the cold
And the heat
Through the rain
Through the tears
Through the crowds
And through the cheers
Oh, I still believe

I’ll march this road
I’ll climb this hill
Down on my knees if I have to
I’ll take my place
Up on this stage
I’ll wait ’til the end of time
for you like everybody else

I’m out on my own
Walkin’ the streets
Look at the faces
That I meet
I feel like I Like I want to go home
What do I feel
What do I know

But I still believe
I still believe
Through the shame
And through the grief
Through the heartache
Through the tears
Through the waiting
Through the years

For people like us
In places like this
We need all the hope
That we can get
Oh, I still believe

 >>
>> 2) That Wasn’t Me [by Brandi Carlisle... a song from last year... by a Pacific Northwest folkie I think, thoug I know little about her]
>>
>> Hang on, justhang on fora minute. I’ve got somethingto say I’m not asking you tomove onor forget it But these are better days To be wrong all along and admit it, is not amazing grace But to be loved like a song you remember Even when you’ve changed
>>
>> Tell me, did I go on a tangent? Did I lie through my teeth? Did I causeyou tostumble onyourfeet? Did I bring shame onmyfamily? Did it show when I was weak? Whatever you see, that wasn’t me That wasn’t me, oh that wasn’t me
>>
>> When you’re lost you will toss every lucky coin you’ll ever trust And you’ll hide from your God like he ever turns his back on us And you will fall all the way to the bottom and land on your own knife And you’ll learn who you are even if it doesn’t take your life
>>
>> Tell me, did I go on a tangent? Did I lie through my teeth? Did I causeyou tostumble onyourfeet? Did I bring shame onmyfamily? Did it show when I was weak? Whatever you see, that wasn’t me That wasn’t me, oh that wasn’t me
>>
>> But I want you to knowthat you’ll never be alone I wanna believe, do I make myself a blessing to everyone I meet When you fall I will get you on your feet Do I spend time with my family? Did it show when I was weak? When that’s what you see, that will be me That will be me, that will be me That will be me.

3) “Come To Jesus”  [ by Mindy Smith, circa 2008?]
>

Oh, my baby, when you’re older Maybe then you’ll understand You have angels to dance around your shoulders ‘Cause at times in life you need a helping hand
>
> Oh, my baby, when you’re prayin’ Leave your burden by my door You have Jesus standing at your bedside To keep you calm, keep you safe, Away from harm
>
> Worry not my daughters, Worry not my sons Child, when life don’t seem worth livin’ Come to Jesus and let Him hold you in His arms
>
> Oh, my baby, when you’re cryin’ Never hide your face from me ’cause I have conquered hell and driven out the demons I have come with a light to set you free
>
> Worry not my daughters, Worry not my sons Child, when life don’t seem worth livin’ Come to Jesus and let Him hold you in His arms
>
> Oh, oh Oh, oh Yeah, yeah, yeah
>
> Oh, my baby, when you’re dying Believe the healing of His hand Here in Heaven we will wait for your arrival Here in Heaven you will finally understand Here in Heaven we will wait for your arrival Here in Heaven you will finally understand
>
> Worry not my daughters, Worry not my sons Child, when life don’t seem worth livin’ Come to Jesus and let Him hold you in His arms
>

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

