Posted by: Mark Nielsen | January 14, 2012

The Spirit Is Not a Dove But a Hawk (original poem by Mark Nielsen)

English: The hawk settled onto a branch 10 fee...

Image via Wikipedia

by Mark Nielsen, Jan. 2012

The Spirit Is Not a Dove, But a Hawk


I did not choose This.

No, This chose me.

I opened a window and It flew in.

More like swooped in, if you ask me –

overwhelmed me, left me little choice,

for I had been hunted from the time of my birth.

                                         *

But I did make some choices along the way:

to open that window and leave it open,

to surrender to the Redtail Hawk,

and to leave with It

through that same strange window of opportunity,

instead of through the door I had built myself

in my million-dollar house of cards.

Responses

  1. This is great!

  2. […] The Spirit Is Not a Dove But a Hawk (original poem by Mark Nielsen) (markingtime4now.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

